Dr. Jeffrey Shaw will be one of the honorees during the 66th Annual Meeting of the ASTMH

International acknowledgement of the Honorary International Fellows owes to his contributions both for the scientific community and for the society


The scientist has been awarded by the British government for his researches on Leishmaniasis in Brazil, when he was granted the Order of the British Empire

During the 66th Annual Meeting of the American Society of Tropical Medicine and Hygiene (ASTMH), to take place from November 5 to 9, in Baltimore, Maryland, USA, Dr. Jeffrey Jon Shaw, nominated by the former president of the Brazilian Society of Tropical Medicine (BSTM) Mitermayer Galvão dos Reis, supported by three other researchers – Prof. Edgar Marcelino Carvalho, Prof. Phillip Scott and Prof. Diane McMahon-Pratt, will be granted with the Honorary International Fellows. The honor is granted to those who work worldwide against tropical diseases.

The international acknowledgement owes to the researchers contribution, both to the scientific community and the society. The Professor. Shaw has dedicated to studying Leishmania since he moved to Brazil in 1965. The scientist has been awarded by the British government for his researches on Leishmaniasis in Brazil, when he was granted the Order of the British Empire.

Doctor Jeffrey Shaw holds a Zoology degree from London University (1960), specialization in Advances in Immunology from Université Lausanne (1972), a master’s degree in Applied Parasitology & Entomology from London University (1961) and a doctorate in Parasitology from London University (1964). Currently he is an advisor at Evandro Chagas Institute, Senior Professor at São Paulo University (USP), general manager at International Leishmania Network, Advisor at Projects and Studies Funder, consultant at the World Health Organization (WHO), consultant at COLCIENCIAS Agency, consultant at the National Health Foundation – Presidency, ad hoc reviewer at the Pan American Journal of Public Health besides being a reviewer in several journals.

The ASTMHs Honorary International Fellows is given upon ackowledgement of the exceptional performance of non-American citizens who achieved eminent contributions at some point to Tropical Medicine and Hygiene. The member is only awarded after careful considerations by the international honorary member at the ASTMH and Committee, besides approval by the American Society Council.

In 2014, Dr. Mitermayer Galvão dos Reis, as president of the BSTM, was nominated by Infectious Diseases PhD. from Case Western Reserve University, Dr. Ronald Blanton. According to him, while Dr. Mitermayer was ahead of the Oswaldo Cruz Foundation in Bahia, the institution achieved an Excellency level compared to the worlds best research centers. Among the changes cited by the North-American, are the physical structure, integration between scientists and opening of the site to the local population. The honored made him a permanent member of the ASTMH.…